6A Slide Design Project

Ponder the Feet of Thy Path

by President Monson (General Conference, Oct. 2014)

Ponder the feet of our path through life.

We all started on an essential journey when we left the spirit world and entered mortality.

  • Purpose
    • Gain body
    • Gain experience
    • Keep commandments
      • Abraham 3:25

Agency

  • Choices
    • Discern between good and evil
    • Find path back to Heavenly Father

Follow Christ

  • Luke 18:22
  • 3 Nephi 27:21, 27
  • Story of woman in Jerusalem
  • John 14:6

Jesuspath had challenges; so does ours.

  • Disappointment
  • Sorrow over Jerusalem
  • Temptation from Satan
  • Pain of Gethsemane

Path of obedience through Christ’s example

  • Prayer
  • Sacrifice
    • 1 Samuel 15:22
  • Scriptures
  • Service

Guided safely home

  • Ponder path of feet
    • Proverbs 4:25
  • Savior’s example – framework

Summary

  • As we look to Jesus as our Exemplar and as we follow in His footsteps, we can return safely to our Heavenly Father.

Process:

I had a few favorite talks from the October 2014 General Conference.  I looked at President Thomas S. Monson’s “Ponder the Feet of Thy Path” and Elder Russell M. Ballard’s talk “Stay in the Boat and Hold On!”  I felt President Monson’s talk was a little simpler to portray through a PowerPoint Presentation.  I began with a rough draft.  I considered my fonts and colors.  At first, I planned to make the colors as a tetradic combination.  I searched for images that went well with the topic.  The project took a long time.  I was not as familiar with PowerPoint as far as using their design options.  I experimented with the layouts and colors.  I used different text boxes and grouped them together.  I found an image with the footprints.  At first I angled them into the middle of the picture.  It didn’t look very well, so I redesigned it having them left aligned going upward.  I kept making changes to the design to try to improve it.  I made more changes with the critiques I received.  I saved it to a JPEG file then a PDF.

6AReginaHull

Critique Report:

My assistant, Abby, critiqued my project in the morning of October 19 in my office.  She saw the two designs I’d created and liked the design with the footprints going upward instead of inward.  I chose that design.  My daughter’s boyfriend, Kyle, also looked at the design and thought the font needed to blend in more. He suggested darker colors with lines around the text boxes.  I had made the changes.  Ben Harker critiqued my project on October 21 at 10 a.m. in the BYU-Idaho McKay Library.  He gave several suggestions.  The fonts were not contrasting enough.  He said they should be more grouped or have a strong alignment.  He suggested placing each word in its own text box.  He said my colors were complimentary and should be lighter because they distracted from the main pictures.  He said not to use a border; although, he thought a thicker box around the white image would bring it out better.  I made the changes Ben suggested.  Brandi Casteel Holcomb said she liked my project except for the colors; they weren’t working for her.  I kept the colors.  I thought they went well with most of the images.

Link to Talk:  https://www.lds.org/ensign/2014/11/sunday-morning-session/ponder-the-path-of-thy-feet?lang=eng

Fonts: Microsoft JhengHei UI Light, regular and Lucida Console, bold (sans serif)

Links to images:  footprints, childrendivided path, follow ChristChrist Jerusalem, girl praying, sunlight pathHeavenly Father

One thought on “6A Slide Design Project

Leave a Reply

